McIntosh High School

Home of the Chiefs

Embracing Excellence for All ~ Students First

  • Academic Clubs and More

     

    Academic Bowl

    Sponsor:

    Emily Hodge - hodge.emily@mail.fcboe.org

    To encourage well-rounded students who are knowledgeable in a variety of topics.

     

    Ambassadors

    Sponsors:

    Cynthia Neeley - neeley.cynthia@mail.fcboe.org

    Hope Huey - huey.hope@mail.fcboe.org

    MHS Ambassadors work with students who are new to MHS to help them make a smooth transition. We are the primary volunteer force for Camp McIntosh, give school tours for new students the first day they attend school and act as peer-buddies to students who may be struggling socially. We invite new students to attend sporting events or to come with our members to other clubs in which they participate. We also provide services to the school by guiding parents at Open House, assisting with GHP interviews, and other events as needed by administration.

    3:50 in the Media Center

    October 15
    November 19
    December 10
    January 21
    February 18
    March 17
    April 14
    May 5

     

    AVPride

    Sponsor:

    Maureen Ciccone - ciccone.maureen@mail.fcboe.org

    To develop youth leadership by addressing academic achievement, career preparedness, and healthy behavioral choices.

     

    Chess Club

    Sponsor:

    Arthur Walton - walton.arthur@mail.fcboe.org

    To introduce chess as a way to develop thinking strategies as part of gaming.

    Meets every Wednesday morning except for Faculty meeting dates.

     

    FBLA

    Sponsor:

    Brad Yarbrough - yarbrough.brad@mail.fcboe.org

    To prepare students to be successful business leaders.

     

    FCA/FCS

    Sponsors:

    Bunky Colvin - colvin.bunky@mail.fcboe.org

    Lee Belknap - belknap.lee@mail.fcboe.org

    Wendy Mabon - mabon.wendy@mail.fcboe.org

    David Munoz - munoz.david@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote fellowship, worship, and discipleship among Christian athletics and students.

     

    HOSA

    Sponsor:

    Dr. Taressa Burge- burge.taress@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote student interest in health occupations.

     

    Interact

    Sponsor:

    Zoila Curtis - curtis.zoila@mail.fcboe.org

    To provide school, community, and international service.

     

    Key Club

    Sponsors:

    Laurette Edenfield - edenfield.laurette@mail.fcboe.org

    Wendy Mabon - mabon.wendy@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote community service.

     

    ONE at McIntosh

    Sponsors:

    Stephanie Sisk - sisk.stephanie@mail.fcboe.org

    To advocate for foreign aid in developing nations. Students will write letters to representatives and encourage fellow students to take action and learn more about critical issues, planning and executing related events

     

    Paddling Club

    Sponsors:

    Mark Kienast - kienast.mark@mail.fcboe.org

    To provide students a way to enjoy the beauty and nature of lakes, to learn water safety and etiquette, and to have fun while learning a skill that can last a lifetime.

     

    PALS

    Sponsor:

    Carrie Smith - smith.carried@mail.fcboe.org

    Marilyn Bullock - bullock.marilyn@mail.fcboe.org

    PALS Website

    Regular meetings are held during A, B, & C lunches. Other organized events will be before and after school. Students may come for any part of that time as transportation allows. Chatting with friends, snacking on breakfast food, and announcement of upcoming events will take place. Social activities will be scheduled after school each month  on various afternoons. Time and date will be decided by members.  Previous events have included Bingo, Halloween Party, Board Game Day, Homecoming poster making, attend MHS sports events. Teachers will be present. Club members may be allowed to volunteer at Fayette County Special Olympics in the spring if they meet requirements of participation and grades. All students may join and experience friendships at MHS.  Dues of $10.00 will be collected in order to receive a P.A.L.S. T shirt.. Scholarships are available.

     

     

    PTSO Club

    Sponsor:

    Bree Heaton - heaton.bree@mail.fcboe.org

    To aid and support the PTSO and to operate the Outpost (school store.)

     

    Skills USA

    Sponsor:

    Lauren Bozone - bozone.lauren@mail.fcboe.org

    SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has an educated and skilled workforce. SkillsUSA's mission is to empower its members to become world-class students, workers, leaders and responsible American citizens. SkillsUSA helps each student excel. The McIntosh SkillsUSA organization/club is entering its 4th exciting year. We have monthly meetings and holiday events. We sponsor an annual community service project. In the spring, we enter competitive events in graphic design, engineering, architectural design, entrepreneurship, healthcare science, computer science, and family and consumer science. We show off our talents and skills and win prizes and recognition all while having a great time together. We have had first and third place winners at national competitions in 2013 and 2014. We are looking for fun, enthusiastic students to join us. It is a great time and looks excellent on a college resume.

     

    SPARK (SADD Chapter)

    Sponsor:

    Shery Kearney - kearney.shery@mail.fcboe.org

    To provide students with the best prevention tools possible to deal with the issues of underage drinking, other drug use, risky and impaired driving, and other destructive behaviors.

     

    TSA (Technology Student Association)

    Sponsor:

    Dave Thomas - thomas.david@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote technological literacy, leadership, and problem solving.

      

CLOSE